It’s a ‘ruling’ party as BJP, TMC win 2 Lok Sabha seats each, AIADMK sweeps TN

It’s a ‘ruling’ party as BJP, TMC win 2 Lok Sabha seats each, AIADMK sweeps TN

The BJP and Trinamool Congress shared the honours by winning two Lok Sabha seats each, as ruling parties in six states and Puducherry held sway in byelections, retaining most of the 10 assembly seats up for grabs.
In the assembly bypolls held on November 19, results of which were declared on Tuesday, the BJP and AIADMK won three seats each, CPI(M) got two while Congress and Trinamool bagged one each.
BJP won the Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat in Assam, vacated by Chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal, by a margin of 1,90,219 votes and Shahdol Lok Sabha seat in Madhya Pradesh, both ruled by the party.

Trinamool Congress swept Tamluk and Coochbehar Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal by a whopping margin of over 4.9 lakh votes, almost doubling the gap from the 2014 polls.
Trinamool also won the Monteswar assembly seat with candidates of CPI(M), Congress and BJP losing their deposits.
Read | Ruling parties hold their ground in Lok Sabha and assembly bypolls
In Madhya Pradesh, BJP’s victory margin in Shahdol Lok Sabha came down to 60,000 from 2,41,301 in the 2014 general elections. It bagged the Nepanagar Assembly seat, where it increased its winning margin to 42,198 votes as against 22,178.
In Tamil Nadu, the ruling AIADMK, whose supremo Jayalalithaa has been in the hospital for two months now, retained Thanjavur and Thirupparankundram assembly seats and wrested Aravakkurichi seat from the DMK by margins ranging from 20,000 votes to 42,000.
The ruling CPI(M) in Tripura wrested Barjala, a Scheduled Caste reserved seat, from Congress and retained Khowai.
AIADMK however lost to senior Congress leader and Puducherry chief minister, V Narayanasamy, who won the bypoll to the Nellithope assembly by a margin of 11,144 votes.
North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) candidate Dasanglu Pul of BJP won Hayuliang assembly by-poll in Arunachal Pradesh defeating her lone rival Yompi Kri, an independent candidate, by 942 votes.
Pul is the youngest of the three wives of former chief minister Kalikho Pul. The bypoll was necessitated by his suicide.
Union minister Ananth Kumar and Sonowal said the BJP’s win in the bypolls showed that people endorsed the government’s decision against black money and corruption.
“BJP’s victory in by-polls is a clear indication that people are fully supporting the decision to demonetise Rs 1,000 and Rs 500 notes. It is people’s mandate for the Prime Minister’s decision of demonetisation,” Sonowal told reporters.
West Bengal chief minister and TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee, however, termed the result as a mandate against the Centre’s demonetisation move.
“The byelection result is a befitting reply against the anti-people demonetisation by the Centre. It’s a people’s revolt, rather a mass revolt against the Centre. BJP should take lessons from this mandate,” she told media in Kolkata before leaving for New Delhi to join the protest by the Opposition.

Couresy: HindustanTimes



Article,12,Entertainment,9,International,40,Jan Abdullah,25,Make in India,1,Moradabad,1,National,44,Politics,9,Short News,1,Sports,7,Uttar Pradesh,4,
UPUKLive English: It’s a ‘ruling’ party as BJP, TMC win 2 Lok Sabha seats each, AIADMK sweeps TN
It’s a ‘ruling’ party as BJP, TMC win 2 Lok Sabha seats each, AIADMK sweeps TN
It’s a ‘ruling’ party as BJP, TMC win 2 Lok Sabha seats each, AIADMK sweeps TN
UPUKLive English
Loaded All Posts Not found any posts VIEW ALL Readmore Reply Cancel reply Delete By Home PAGES POSTS View All RECOMMENDED FOR YOU LABEL ARCHIVE SEARCH ALL POSTS Not found any post match with your request Back Home Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat January February March April May June July August September October November December Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec just now 1 minute ago $$1$$ minutes ago 1 hour ago $$1$$ hours ago Yesterday $$1$$ days ago $$1$$ weeks ago more than 5 weeks ago Followers Follow THIS CONTENT IS PREMIUM Please share to unlock Copy All Code Select All Code All codes were copied to your clipboard Can not copy the codes / texts, please press [CTRL]+[C] (or CMD+C with Mac) to copy